Item added to your cart.

Forbidden Realm
Simon Sizer
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 25, 2019

Montreal-based producer Simon Sizer returns to Steyoyoke for his third EP, ‘Forbidden Realm’. Over three tracks he takes listeners through a dark and diverse landscape, where his masterful command over tones and effects stretches the boundaries of minimal techno.

The first track, ‘Prime’, is a strong beginning, establishing an air of mystery that sustains throughout the EP. He strikes a balance between a rich bass and echoing higher tones that evolve as the track builds; it is a track that radiates power. ‘Underskin’ follows, pulling the listener deeper into a dark, minimal space. It takes a more ominous turn - building up points of tension before using heavier, bass-driven sections to plunge the listener back down into the dark. Bordering on the cinematic, it showcases Simon Sizer’s attention to detail and command over a mood. The final track, ‘Stranger’, is a compelling number that would sit well in any techno set. Pairing darker textures with more upbeat and synth-driven interludes, he perfectly combines the strongest aspects of the EP to close it off with a stand-out track.

This is another impressive release for Simon Sizer, another point along his upward trajectory. In ‘Forbidden Realm’ he shows growth as an artist whilst maintaining a consistency of style – and doubtless much more is to come.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Prime (Original Mix) 8:22 Buy

    Prime (Original Mix)

  2. 2 Underskin (Original Mix) 8:39 Buy

    Underskin (Original Mix)

  3. 3 Stranger (Original Mix) 7:59 Buy

    Stranger (Original Mix)

Track List

  1. Simon Sizer - Prime (Original Mix)
  2. Simon Sizer - Underskin (Original Mix)
  3. Simon Sizer - Stranger (Original Mix)

Simon Sizer

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences